Finnish cinematic metal band DARK SARAH was formed in 2012 by Heidi Parviainen, a classically educated professional singer-songwriter. Their music combines elements of metal music, film music, music theater and opera. Their albums are conceptual albums and tell a continuing story. Their debut album ”Behind The Black Veil” was released in 2015 and already in 2016 followed their second album ”The Puzzle”.”The Golden Moth” album and the last part of ”The Chronicles” trilogy were released in 2018.

The albums include numerous guest: JP Leppäluoto (Charon), who was also an official member on the third album, Marco Hietala (Nightwish), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), Charlotte Wessels (DELAIN), Zuberoa Aznárez (Diabulus In Musica), Manuela Kraller (ex-Xandria) and Inga Scharf (Van Canto).

Over the course of eight years and three epically conceptualized albums, the band has proven their standing in the scene. Known for their incredible storytelling that coalesces perfectly into an unbreakable bond with their music, DARK SARAH started a new, mesmerizing journey with Napalm Records and their brand new epos, Grim, was released July 17th, 2020.

”Grim is a concept album like its predecessors, but it will start a new storyline with a modern horror fantasy theme and a new protagonist called ”Luna”. Musically, Grim introduces a more modern sound and a taste of what’s to come in the future – with a “DARK SARAH twist”, of course. Album is produced by the one and only Mikko P. Mustonen who has been working with us from the start. We think Grim will surprise our listeners with its fresh sound and very catchy and witchy songs! We have not forgotten the theater aspect but it is showcased in a different way. We´re curious to see the response from our audience. We are very excited about this release and can’t wait to share it with the world.”

The album includes 12 brand new tracks, including a guest appearance by JP Leppäluoto (as Wolf) and a Finnish new metal voice, the second runner in Voice of Finland 2019 Jasse Jatala (as Mörk).

Dark Sarah is:

Heidi Parviainen – vocals
Sami Salonen – guitar
Rude Rothstén – bass guitar
Thomas Tunkkari – drums

Let the story begin!

Kari Penttinen